Milwaukee Championship Winners

The Milwaukee Championship has, on several occasions, been won by the same golfer twice, but no-one has managed a consecutive victory at Brown Deer Park, or has taken the coveted title three or more times.

Two-Time Milwaukee Championship Winners

  • Cary Middlecoff – 1955 & 1958MILWAUKEE - JULY 22: Joe Ogilvie holds the trophy as he poses for pictures on the 18th green after winning by 4 strokes during the final round of the U.S. Bank Championship at Brown Deer Golf Course on July 22, 2007 in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. (Photo by Scott Boehm/Getty Images)
  • Ken Venturi – 1957 & 1960
  • Dave Stockton – 1968 & 1973
  • Dave Eichelberger – 1971 & 1977
  • Calvin Peete – 1979 & 1982
  • Scott Hoch – 1995 & 1997
  • Corey Pavin – 1986 & 2006
  • Loren Roberts 1996 & 2000
  • Jeff Sluman – 1998 & 2002
  • Carlos Franco – 1999 & 2004

Another notable point is that only six non-American golfers have been successful in Milwaukee since the dawn of the event in 1940. This is quite remarkable as it is a well-known fact that many European golfers opt to play the richer PGA Tour instead of their home-based European Tour.

Milwaukee Championship Winners: Non-Americans

  • Richard S. Johnson of Sweden
  • Carlos Franco of Paraguay
  • Shigeki Maruyama of Japan
  • Richard Zokol of Canada
  • Greg Norman of Australia
  • Bruce Crampton of Australia

Perhaps the reason why the Americans have been so dominant at Milwaukee is that it offers the obvious home-ground advantage, as well as familiarity with the course. Even seasoned campaigners like South Africa’s Gary Player and Tim Clark, Puerto Rico’s Chi Chi Rodriguez and South Korea’s Charlie Wi have walked away from Wisconsin empty-handed.

In the past 40 years not a single player from Britain has lifted the championship title. Here is a complete list of Milwaukee Championship winners since 1940.

Year Winner Runner-up/s
2008 Richard S. Johnson Ken Duke
2007 Joe Ogilvie Charlie Wi, Tim Herron, Tim Clark
2006 Corey Pavin Jerry Kelly
2005 Ben Crane Scott Verplank
2004 Carlos Franco Fred Funk, Brett Quigley
2003 Kenny Perry Steve Allen, Heath Slocum
2002 Jeff Sluman Tim Herron, Steve Lowery
2001 Shigeki Maruyama Charles Howell
2000 Loren Roberts Franklin Langham
1999 Carlos Franco Tom Lehman
1998 Jeff Sluman Steve Stricker
1997 Scott Hoch Loren Roberts, David Sutherland
1996 Loren Roberts Jerry Kelly
1995 Scott Hoch Marco Dawson
1994 Mike Springer Loren Roberts
1993 Billy Mayfair Mark Calcavecchia, Ted Schultz
1992 Richard Zokol Dick Mast
1991 Mark Brooks Robert Gamez
1990 Jim Gallagher Jr. Ed Dougherty, Billy Mayfair
1989 Greg Norman Andy Bean
1988 Ken Green Mark Calcavecchia, Jim Gallagher Jr., Donnie Hammond, Dan Pohl
1987 Gary Hallberg Wayne Levi, Robert Wren
1986 Corey Pavin Dave Barr
1985 Jim Thorpe Jack Nicklaus
1984 Mark O’Meara Tom Watson
1983 Morris Hatalsky George Cadle
1982 Calvin Peete Victor Regalado
1981 Jay Haas Chi Chi Rodriguez
1980 Billy Kratzert Howard Twitty
1979 Calvin Peete Jim Simmonds, Victor Regalado, Lee Trevino
1978 Lee Elder Lee Trevino
1977 David Eichelberger Morris Hatalsky, Gary McCordMike Morley
1976 Dave Hill John Jacobs
1975 Art Wall Gary McCord
1974 Ed Sneed Grier Jones
1973 Dave Stockton Homero Blancas, Hubert Green
1972 Jim Colbert Bud Allin, Charles Courtney, George Johnson, Grier Jones
1971 David Eichelberger Ralph Johnson, Bob Shaw
1970 Deane Beman Richard Crawford, Ted Hayes, Don Massengale
1969 Ken Still Gary Player
1968 Dave Stockton Sam Snead
1961 Bruce Crampton Gay Brewer, Bob Goalby
1960 Ken Venturi Billy Casper
1959 Gene Littler Ted Kroll, Bob Rosburg, Bo Wininger
1958 Cary Middlecoff Bob Rosburg
1957 Ken Venturi Al Balding, Sam Snead
1956 Ed Furgol Gene Littler
1955 Cary Middlecoff Julius Boros, Ted Kroll, Mike Souchak
1951 Joe Kirkwood Sam Snead
1940 Ralph Guldahl Ed Oliver
1983 Morris Hatalsky George Cadle