Milwaukee Championship Betting Guide

One of the regular PGA Tour events, the Milwaukee Championship, takes place each year in July, and over its 68-year history it has attracted some of the biggest names in golf. Milwaukee Championship legends like Sam Snead, Jack Nicklaus and Gary Player have all supported the tournament, but oddly enough none of them left Milwaukee as the victor. The 2009 U.S Bank Championship golf tournament will run from July 13 -19.

The event has been contested at the Brown Deer Park Golf Club since 1994, and what makes this tournament so special is that all proceeds are donated to various charities in and around

Wisconsin. Not only does the venue host the PGA event, but several pro-am tournaments are organised during the same week as the Milwaukee Championship.

Several golf champions have won the event on more than one occasion, and one man, America’s Corey Pavin allowed 20 years to elapse between his first and second Milwaukee Championship win. He claimed the prize in 1986, and then again in 2006 – quite remarkable. Read all about Milwaukee Championship winners for a concise breakdown of all the golfers who have won the tournament, and brush up on some Milwaukee Championship history – who do you think will win the event this year? 2009 Milwaukee Championship tickets are currently available online, and there are several corporate hospitality options to choose from. Unlike many of the other PGA Tour events, the Milwaukee Championship is affordable to the man in the street – ticket prices start from as low as $20.

In 2007 the Milwaukee Championship became part of the new PGA Tour FedEx Cup competition, and thus players’ performances at Brown Deer Park will affect their seeding for the PGA Tour playoffs for the Cup.

The PGA Tour is the official governing body for all PGA (Professional Golfer’s Association) events played in the United States. It is the richest tour of the golfing fraternity, and is followed by the European Tour, which manages and oversees international golf competition in Europe, Australasia and Africa.

Swedish golfer Richard S. Johnson won the 2008 Milwaukee Championship in his first ever PGA Tour victory, at the time he ranked 221st on the FedEx Cup! In the 2007 championship, Joe Ogilvie won his very first PGA Tour event when he shot a 67, and finished 14-under 266. He pulled off an impressive eagle on the par-4 16th to break a tie with South Africa’s Tim Clark.

To get into the swing of things, have a go at predicting the Milwaukee Championship winner. Can Corey Pavin add a third title to his name, or will the likes of Tim Clark, Steve Stricker or Rocco Mediate subdue the Brown Deer Park Golf Course for the first time? Take a look at our Milwaukee Championship betting guide for more information on golf bets, and our golf betting tips page for our hot picks.